ADA Depot Too - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Let us never forget our beloved founder - RIP Jurrie, we all miss you very much

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: MB-1 - Should I get one?  (Read 1982 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rnolan

  • Administrator
  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5306
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #15 on: Time Format »

I wouldn't say it's way more complicated than a MP-1, just a bit different as it's purely designed for bass and what bass players need. So you have the tube and SS stages in parallel (combine as it suits) and then a strait forward path to the 2 fx loops.  Where it really starts to mess with your head is the CC stuff, not so much what you can do with it, but how to set it up.  That did take some reading/thinking/drinking to get my head around.  But I spose I've had a MP-2 for a long time now and I just found it (the MP-2) a great leap forward from what I had in the MP-1.  The only bit of the MP-2 I've never played around with is the macros. I'll get to them eventually, but then I don't have a huge need to drive that, just curiosity...
Maybe do a quick recording before you send it to Belgium so you can compare the MDRT vs stock tranny.  Peter of course will know this as he's been on that journey.  Both of my MB-1s came all souped up  >:D so I've never got to compare, not that I mind, they are just amazing, with, as you have discovered, great bottom end.  Man, running in stereo (Alembic > MB-1 > mixer > TC MOne (lite delay/reverb) > B200s > Messa P112 cabs), melt me....
Just had a look at the Cort Jnr, looks like a nice bass  :thumb-up:   BTW I'd recommend a set of Alembic CX-3/45/S short scale strings for it, it's what my Alembic SC Brown came with.  Love them.  Hex core, finishing wrap is an oval. The shorter axis of this elliptical wrap faces the fingerboard.  So less fretting hand noise as you slide up and down and easier on your fingers (without killing the tone like flat wounds do).  And they are made (length) for 2 aside tuners.  Alembic have a retail site on Yahoo, so easy to buy.
Logged
Studio Rig: MP2/MB1 > Eurorack UB2442FX-Pro > TC M-One XL > Behringer Truths (with Truth Sub) / QUAD ESL 63s
Live Rig: MP2/MB1 > Alesis Quadverb > Alesis Midiverb 4 > Yamaha AM802 > B200s/Carvin TS100/DCM200L > ADA Split Stacks/Mesa P112s

Peter H. Boer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • 2* MB-1 1*MP-1 + Jur's old Mod4Mk2
    • The Granny Attic
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #16 on: Time Format »

Ok!

And yes it's more complicated then the MP-1, but not as bad as a MP-2.

Hey MJMP, to a bassplayer it isn't more complicated. It has the functions you would expect on a 2 channel bass amp, you can always either/or the channels an semi-parametric EQs are parr for the course.
Only the effects loop (having 2 in parallel, but the section in series) is it bit getting used to but very useful  :banana:
Logged
Nothing beats MB-1s and MP-1s with MDRTs

http://www.thegrannyattic.com
http://www.Illumion.net
http://www.sote.nl

rnolan

  • Administrator
  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5306
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #17 on: Time Format »

Hey Peter, when you first put in a MDRT, what was your impression of the difference from stock?  I've heard the comparison with MP-1 but both my MB-1s came with MDRT (which I'm very happy about  :thumb-up: ).  In the MP-1 the MDRT really opens up the dynamic range of the unit.
Logged
Studio Rig: MP2/MB1 > Eurorack UB2442FX-Pro > TC M-One XL > Behringer Truths (with Truth Sub) / QUAD ESL 63s
Live Rig: MP2/MB1 > Alesis Quadverb > Alesis Midiverb 4 > Yamaha AM802 > B200s/Carvin TS100/DCM200L > ADA Split Stacks/Mesa P112s

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2016
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #18 on: Time Format »

To put things into perspective when I say complicated, it is compared to the MP-1.  When I first got the MP-1 I didn't have to look at the manual to figure stuff out.  I'm also at the disadvantage of when I look at the MB-1 my brain see s an MP-1 so the fact it doesn't operate the same makes it that little more difficult.  Had I never used an MP-1 before I probably would not find it difficult but I'm almost certain I'd need the manual as it's not simply a case of edit and then start hitting the eq and going up and down, there are more options so I'd need to know what they all did first.

Anyways it's going on holiday  :wave: I don't wanna touch it until it's right  :lol:  That's just how I am with my gear.
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

Peter H. Boer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • 2* MB-1 1*MP-1 + Jur's old Mod4Mk2
    • The Granny Attic
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #19 on: Time Format »

Hey Peter, when you first put in a MDRT, what was your impression of the difference from stock?  I've heard the comparison with MP-1 but both my MB-1s came with MDRT (which I'm very happy about  :thumb-up: ).  In the MP-1 the MDRT really opens up the dynamic range of the unit.

Moooooore dynamics, and that is so important, especially with bass.
Also the sound becomes tighter, which is also specially important with bass.
Logged
Nothing beats MB-1s and MP-1s with MDRTs

http://www.thegrannyattic.com
http://www.Illumion.net
http://www.sote.nl

MarshallJMP

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4339
    • marshalljmpmodshop.net
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #20 on: Time Format »

Ok!

And yes it's more complicated then the MP-1, but not as bad as a MP-2.

Hey MJMP, to a bassplayer it isn't more complicated. It has the functions you would expect on a 2 channel bass amp, you can always either/or the channels an semi-parametric EQs are parr for the course.
Only the effects loop (having 2 in parallel, but the section in series) is it bit getting used to but very useful  :banana:

I was actually talking about the electronics  ;D Not on how to use it. I know the MB-1 very well.
Logged

Peter H. Boer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • 2* MB-1 1*MP-1 + Jur's old Mod4Mk2
    • The Granny Attic
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #21 on: Time Format »


I was actually talking about the electronics  ;D Not on how to use it. I know the MB-1 very well.

 O:-) O:-)
Logged
Nothing beats MB-1s and MP-1s with MDRTs

http://www.thegrannyattic.com
http://www.Illumion.net
http://www.sote.nl

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2016
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #22 on: Time Format »

So I got one remember?

It was bust and the great MJMP, the master of all ADA fixed it for me!  It was posted back to me last week and I got it by Friday!  Only started playing yesterday and I love it.

I seem to recall thinking what was described above was complicated, but I think I figured out the controls no problem.  They are quite intuitive.

Hit Edit

then you have  a blend of Tube and SS of which you can select predetermined contours and control the mix of each by using the input for either one.  Then you have your EQ which is self explanatory and master volume.

Now I'm sure I'll figure out more stuff but that's enough to get me up and running.  I like the unit a lot.  That chorus is nice!  Just wondering is it normal to have a lot of hiss with the compressor?  I suppose it is really.

Good preamp and its racked in my home setup already.  Should be very useful for the album I'm working on.


Oh I like this idea of Peters, but could I get a little more info on how to use those loops in that way?  Sorry stuff like this blows my mind until I see a diagram or something  :lol:
« Last Edit: Time Format by rabidgerry »
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

rnolan

  • Administrator
  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5306
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #23 on: Time Format »

Hey RG,  :whoohoo!: :thumb-up: .  When/if you want to get (more) complicated, have a read of my post re CC control, there's a bunch you can do, in the end I just went with using expression pedal as master vol (for the whole unit).  Did you get the MDRT in it?  Both mine have and it works great (not that I've heard one without it.  I've not had any noticeable hiss with the compressor  :dunno: , not that I've chased a sound and manipulated it, I've just picked a few patches I like, 14 seems a good mainstay, so if they have compressor....  Peter should be able to shed some thoughts.
So I don't use the fx loops as I plug it into a desk and use the send/rtrns to add some reverb.  Like the MP-1 loop, they are both series loops i.e. the fx is placed in the signal path (as opposed to mixed in like a parallel loop).  But you have 2 loops, so to make one of them work like a parallel loop and "mix" in some fx without affecting the direct sound, you can plug a short patch lead between 1 of the loops send and return (basically guaranteeing the unaffected direct signal gets through) and whatever you patch in the other loop is combined/mixed with the direct signal.
Logged
Studio Rig: MP2/MB1 > Eurorack UB2442FX-Pro > TC M-One XL > Behringer Truths (with Truth Sub) / QUAD ESL 63s
Live Rig: MP2/MB1 > Alesis Quadverb > Alesis Midiverb 4 > Yamaha AM802 > B200s/Carvin TS100/DCM200L > ADA Split Stacks/Mesa P112s

Peter H. Boer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 486
  • 2* MB-1 1*MP-1 + Jur's old Mod4Mk2
    • The Granny Attic
Re: MB-1 - Should I get one?
« Reply #24 on: Time Format »



Oh I like this idea of Peters, but could I get a little more info on how to use those loops in that way?  Sorry stuff like this blows my mind until I see a diagram or something  :lol:

The Loop section is serial, but within the Loopsection A & B run parallel.

So if you use:
Loop A with just the Out & In connected with a short cable
Loop B with your effects unit

Then using Loop B will get you series effects, and using Loop A+B will give you parallel effects.\\

Of course with most modern effects units you can programm the series/parallel within the effects unit, however then your direct signal will always go through an AD and an DA conversion.
Using above system your direct signal will always be fully analogue

Peter
« Last Edit: Time Format by Peter H. Boer »
Logged
Nothing beats MB-1s and MP-1s with MDRTs

http://www.thegrannyattic.com
http://www.Illumion.net
http://www.sote.nl
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up