ADA Depot Too - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Board added for "Routing & Patching" in Lets Get Technical

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query  (Read 4269 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1766
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« on: Time Format »

Hi everyone,

I have a few technical queries I'd like to ask some advice on.  Hopefully you can help.

Ok so I bought an MP1 last week and so far it's great.  I've only been running it direct into a multi track recording unit so far but still sounds good.

So first question:  my MP1 came with a short power cord, attached to the end of this power cord was a male kettle lead type socket, a C16.  The C16 has a notch in it which prevents any of my regular kettle leads (c13/14) from plugging into it.  What I did as a temprarey measure was to dettach this socket and fit a mains plug on instead.  This allowed to me to test the unit.  What I plan on doing now is fit a regular c13/14 socket to the end of the short cabel which will allow me to use any kettle lead in future.

However I have a question about this.  The original weird c15/16 socket did not have the earth wire attached to it, why would that have been?  Is this dangerous?

I kinda want to know because when I fit the new socket I want to make sure it is safe and done properly.  Here in the UK we have 3 wires in our plugs, unlike the US.  I checked inside and the MP1 does actually have an earth wire inside and this was the wire that was simply unattached at the weird socket that was originally fitted.  This socket looked like this and the centre pin had the earth wire disconneted, and it looked deliberate the way the earth wire was then bent backwards.

« Last Edit: Time Format by rabidgerry »
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

Peter H. Boer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • 2* MB-1 1*MP-1 + Jur's old Mod4Mk2
    • The Granny Attic
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #1 on: Time Format »

As far as I know, the MP1 (and MB1) were always delivered with a fixed 3 pin cord.

The Socket must have been a modification done by the (a) previous owner, as is the un-connecting of the earthing.

Peter
Logged
Nothing beats MB-1s and MP-1s with MDRTs

http://www.thegrannyattic.com
http://www.Illumion.net
http://www.sote.nl

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1766
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #2 on: Time Format »

Well then that's pretty dangerous right?  So I will be doing the right thing connecting all 3 wires to pins of a new socket that will then allow me to plug any kettle lead in at will.

What I will end up with will be this on the end of the short cord coming from the mp1



what was on there before was similar except it had the notch that prevented any old kettle lead being used and only a kettle lead with a space in it to accommodate the notch could be utilized.
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

MarshallJMP

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3875
    • marshalljmpmodshop.net
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #3 on: Time Format »

Can you take a pic of how it is now?Is there still a fuse?
Logged

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1766
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #4 on: Time Format »

oh yeah I wired a plug to it that has a 13amp fuse.  I was actually going to disconnect the wires internally and fit a new cord from in there until I opened it up and say some tricky area I didn't want to full around with.  The socket plan is a good idea as it mean I can connect any kettle lead to it once I'm done and it would be easy to connect in a rack without long main cable everywhere.
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

MarshallJMP

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3875
    • marshalljmpmodshop.net
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #5 on: Time Format »

13 amp is waaaaaaaaaaay to high,normally you only need 250mA.
Logged

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1766
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #6 on: Time Format »

No not internal fuse, god knows what that is, I didn't look at it.  In the UK our plugs have fuses man, plugs will have 3, 5 or 13 amp fuses.  Every appliance I know is.  I was taking no risk so I fitting a 13amp fuse.
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010

MarshallJMP

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3875
    • marshalljmpmodshop.net
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #7 on: Time Format »

Well normally there is a fuse holder on the back,but my guess is they removed it when they installed the IEC plug.So it's a bit dangerous since you have no protection with a 13 amp fuse which is waaaaay to high.
Logged

rnolan

  • Administrator
  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4957
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #8 on: Time Format »

Agree with MJMP, make sure the MP1's normal power fuse is still there (or fit one), 13 amp is way to high and dangerous.  Your idea to run a standard power cable from the MP1 is sensible (good/best idea (and reinstate the 250mA fuse, they may have kept it but moved it internally ? worth a photo)) and yes, it should be earthed (3 pin like here in Australia, I think the US is slowly working out earth is good and changing...).  The reason it's been done was probably to run it off a furman (or similar) power conditioner, all the "conditioned" power outs are IEC (jug leads), and they may have had earth loop issues thus disconnected the earth ?? (my guess).
Logged
Studio Rig: MP2/MB1 > Eurorack UB2442FX-Pro > TC M-One XL > Behringer Truths (with Truth Sub) / QUAD ESL 63s
Live Rig: MP2/MB1 > Alesis Quadverb > Alesis Midiverb 4 > Yamaha AM802 > B200s/Carvin TS100/DCM200L > ADA Split Stacks/Mesa P112s

rabidgerry

  • Superhero Member
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1766
  • HEAVY METAL
    • Rabid Bitch of the North band facebook
Re: ADA MP1 - uk plug/earth wire query
« Reply #9 on: Time Format »

hahah jug leads - we call em kettle leads  :D  the IEC 13/14

Anyways this is what happened.

I bought the IEC13/14 coupler and fitted it.

This was how my MP1 was first when I got it, earth wire was not connected and looked deliberately left excluded



This is the type of coupler it had also, which has a notch in it stopping normal kettle lead from fitting




This is the type of coupler that I ended up fitting and using all three wires which I think is best



All three secured inside




Now any kettle lead (iec 13/14) can be connected





In regards to the fuse the fuse I was talking about is just the fuse that comes with the plug.  The MP1 has the internal fuse also.
Logged
"whadda ya want? we want Heavy Metal"

Guitars:1986 Westone Dimension IV, 1989 Korean Squier Fat Strat Silver Series, 1998 Korean Squier Fat Strat, MIM Fender Fat Strat - FR, Squier Stagemaster Deluxe - Thru Neck x 2, Squier Stagemaster 22 Fret - 1st Gen, 1999 Squier Showmaster - Anniversary Edition, Squier Showmaster, Tokai FV40 Flying V

Effects:  Ada Mp1, Peavey Rockmaster, Boss GX700 Boss SX700 * Amps:   Rocktron Velocity 300 - Koch ATR4502 - Peavey Classic 50/50
Cabs: 4 x Bugera 2 x 12"
Midi Controller: Behringer FCB1010
Pages: [1]   Go Up