ADA Depot Too - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

ADA Preamps => MP-1 Classic => Topic started by: Dante on March 12, 2014, 05:55:36 PM

Title: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 12, 2014, 05:55:36 PM
No cabs, no speakers, just directly out of the Recording Outs into the mixer.

I did this at practice last night and I must say, it sounded a LOT better than my Boogie combo with a mic in front of it. In-ear-monitors (IEMs) make all the difference in the world, no more competing for volume with the drummer (and his endless array of cymbals).
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on March 12, 2014, 11:54:08 PM
Cool, so the Classic cab sims are working well for you now  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 13, 2014, 04:02:52 PM
Indeed they are. I'm thinking I never saw the little switch back there before, it sounds a lot better in Single than it does in Array, which seems backwards to me  :dunno:

I need to look in the manual to see if they are balanced or not
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 14, 2014, 09:18:12 PM
I need to FIND a manual

Here's a pic of the new gig rig - straight into the mixer, no amp, no cab(s)

I'll get a better pic later
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on March 14, 2014, 11:37:26 PM
Nice, and very portable  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: GuitarBuilder on March 15, 2014, 10:41:10 AM
IMHO it's the ONLY way to go.  Yes, going through all kinds of tube amps (guitar, power) tends to sound better to some folks, but I find that those severely limit the frequency response of rack gear, particularly for the higher harmonics.  There's actually quite a bit lost.

I run both my ADA and Rockman heads straight into the mixer or PA amp (Crown XLS1000), which then feed proper three-way speakers with broad frequency response.  Try it, you'll like it!  Keep in mind that your EQ settings will need massive adjustments, because you've been compensating for the poor response of the guitar amps........
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 15, 2014, 07:25:12 PM
Quote
I run both my ADA and Rockman heads straight into the mixer or PA amp (Crown XLS1000), which then feed proper three-way speakers with broad frequency response.  Try it, you'll like it!  Keep in mind that your EQ settings will need massive adjustments, because you've been compensating for the poor response of the guitar amps........

I have found that the EQ settings are greatly amplified by running direct, so I don't need to cut the mids quite as much as usual. Every frequency seems a bit more sensitive, I just chalked that up to the direct out being set to line instead of instrument.

I agree though, absolutely the way to go  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: El Chiguete on March 28, 2014, 03:03:25 PM
Quote
I run both my ADA and Rockman heads straight into the mixer or PA amp (Crown XLS1000), which then feed proper three-way speakers with broad frequency response.  Try it, you'll like it!  Keep in mind that your EQ settings will need massive adjustments, because you've been compensating for the poor response of the guitar amps........

I have found that the EQ settings are greatly amplified by running direct, so I don't need to cut the mids quite as much as usual. Every frequency seems a bit more sensitive, I just chalked that up to the direct out being set to line instead of instrument.

I agree though, absolutely the way to go  :thumb-up:

So you run the ADA straight with no cab simulation???
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 28, 2014, 08:32:56 PM
The Classic has an either/or switch on the back of the unit. It's either set to SINGLE or ARRAY, but both are cab sims. I like the Array setting.
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on March 31, 2014, 09:52:19 PM
I've gotta say, this is a nice setup. Very compact, lightweight, and versatile. I have a bank for each guitar, and have  banks written for 3 of my 'go-to' guitars, so I'm good for my gig this Friday night. The tones are amazing - truly a blast to listen to.

I can go from James Brown funky clean to classic Rock overdrive to massive crushing Metal tones. I have 3 patches for solos, 3-4 cleans, 3-4 gains, and whatever 'wild card' patches I need for specific songs. The Quad switch allows me to turn individual FX on/off in the Boss GX-700 (Delay / Wah / Solo Boost / Chorus or Flange) so I can cover a lot of ground with 10 patches.

Now that I'm running direct, I'm wondering why I have 3 power amps  :facepalm: and two 1x12s, and two combo amps, and...and...
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on March 31, 2014, 11:52:45 PM
Now that I'm running direct, I'm wondering why I have 3 power amps  :facepalm: and two 1x12s, and two combo amps, and...and...
Well you could downsize I spose, I find it pretty hard to part with gear, like my 1972 Marshall, doesn't get used at all anymore but I'm loathed to sell it. Ahh 1st World Problems, which BTW is what we're calling the new band (finally decided on a name....)
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on April 05, 2014, 10:12:19 PM
So, I played my first gig running the Classic direct, and it was a huge success.

Now, for the irony of ironies...we were playing on a pretty big stage, and the mains were well in front of the band. So, anyone directly in front of the stage would be even to (or even behind) the mains and the subs. We realized during soundcheck that we were going to need some sort of stage volume for the guitar  :facepalm:

We had a powered monitor nearby that we plugged my Recording Outs into for the stage volume.
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on April 06, 2014, 06:09:50 AM
And I assume it sounded great through the powered monitor and everyone (including Dante..) was happy  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on April 06, 2014, 06:17:55 AM
Actually, I'm about to do a very similar set up tomorrow night (no IEMs though, Dante you and Peter are getting me very interested (see email..)).  Mikes MP1 through my spare MP2, cab sims (via loop returns) > PA, MP2 cab sims (me) > PA, electric kit > PA (PA is a pair of Carvin I5/horn powered monitors (and dual 32 band eq)).
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: robertkoa on August 03, 2014, 03:51:28 PM
Interesting. I never heard an  MP1 Classic.

Does it have a Microcab type Simulator built in-must be better than a Red Box for example.

My MP1 sounds very good into a  POD XT with modeling OFF  "No Amp " setting I will  use real   CAB IRs  for recording but the EFX , Delays and Reverbs  and Cabs in  POD XT work really really well with MP1.

I may snag a Classic if I see one, more refined  OD than  old  MP1 ?

And you guys can get Fender to Marshall great Tones into the Board with the Classic for Recording ?

Of the  3  MP1  Units  , which one has the clearest , sweetest  OD/Tube Distortion, the  non angry Distortion like  EJ / Brian Adams Guitarist/ EVH warm crunch / Gilmour  etc. ?

Who wins the sweetest Gain race ?
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: rnolan on August 04, 2014, 03:10:49 AM
Some of the best tones I've heard are Trevor Rabin (Yes "owner of a lonely heart" etc and Look Away solo album) but I suspect he used MP2 (as do I).

Dante seems to know more about the Classic than anyone, I've not used one.  The cab sims work well I understand, precursors to the MP2 cab sims which I know work well as I use them often and, as previous post, you can run a MP1 into the MP2 effects returns and pick up the stereo cab sims.  Alternately, you can use the ADA GCS-3 cab sim (is a mono unit) in the MP1 effects loop and get stereo cab simmed outs, I've tried this and it also works well.
Paul Gilbert (Mr Big et al) and Nuno Bettencourt (Extreme) got great sounds from their MP1s, and very different tones, I tend to prefer Paul Gilbert's tones.  But then I made all my own patches.
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: mike_mp-1 on September 06, 2014, 04:37:52 PM
I guess if you like the cab sims out of the MP-2 or Classic then yeah, good way to stay compact an not break the back.

Few Factors though:
1: The PA has to be decent enough, good speakers and some good decent subs (not always needed).
2: Stage monitor so that you can here yourself, or in ear monitors.
3: Knowing how to mix and getting good quality sound into the front end and stage monitors.
4: some good quality monitors as well, you want some decent tone to listen to.
5: If the stage mix is at a good enough volume that captures the experience, good to go.
Optional 6: If your playing is good you can impress that way (small rack), if not, then I recommend bringing a huge Marshall stack for show...lol

I understand why people downsize all the time and why they would want to get an AXE FX and so on, but really, just stick to the tone you like few different variations, and some nice cleans you enjoy, and good to go.

Even if you listen to some cover bands, the guys are not out to get the exact tone of the original band, unless you are a band like The Pink Floyd experience and so on, then really, what it the poin tin having 1000 different presets...lol

I find I only use maybe 6 different heavy tones, 2 or 3 crunch sounds, and a couple of different cleans with some effects added. The tones I use are not really copy's of anyone else's tone, even though they may sound similar, but I just play around with what sounds I enjoy and go from there.

I'm going to try MP-2 cab sims out into PA as well and see how the goes will play around a bit.
Never though of going direct, but will miss my 4x12 on stage, but not the back breaking hauling though...lol
Title: Re: Running Direct
Post by: Dante on September 09, 2014, 03:54:57 PM
I agree wholeheartedly with Mike_MP-1. I don't copy anybody's tones, I make what I like and see if they fit. There are a couple of exceptions whereby a specific tone & FX are required to nail that song (like most of my U2 covers and a couple others). But, most of the time, I just write what I like and give myself enough variation to cover 45 songs in one night.

I typically use one bank of patches for each guitar like this:

On top of that, I use the Quad switch to make those 10 patches into 30-40 of their own:

Truth be told, I have been relegated to bringing an amp for the stage volume :facepalm:. Our sound man kept on complaining that he couldn't hear any guitar when standing directly in front of the stage (between the mains). So, I plug my 2u rack into my Boogie combo for ultra portability. My other rig (which I have been using just as much lately) has a Microtube 200 in it, and I bring a couple small 1x12 cabs for that. << read:small rig

With the in-ear-monitors (IEMs) and a decent set of subwoofers, I truly can feel the rumble in the stage just like if there were a big ol' amp back there. It's PLENTY loud enough in my ears too (I have my guitar and my vox cranked in the mix). Did I mention that our IEMs allow each band member to have their own headphone mix? Yeah, we got that.  :thumb-up: