ADA Depot Too - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

ADA Preamps => MP-1 Classic => Topic started by: Dante on February 22, 2014, 07:53:25 AM

Title: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on February 22, 2014, 07:53:25 AM
DON'T MAKE ME DECIDE!!

They both sound so good. The only observation i have is that the Classic seems to cut through the mix a bit better in a live situation. That said, the MP-2 has a 'wall of sound' quality that sounds pretty darn good too.

If it wasn't for all the extra bells & whistles the MP-2 has (auto wah, Quad switch, balanced outputs, etc.) I could totally get by with a Classic & get rid of the MP-2. But, I can't seem to part with either one, even though I don't gig with them.
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: GuitarBuilder on February 22, 2014, 12:53:04 PM
I feel your pain, Dante!

I can't decide either:

(http://i1240.photobucket.com/albums/gg481/GuitarBuilder/ADA/file_zps70e9ab14.jpg)
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on February 24, 2014, 08:28:01 PM
Now you're just showin' off, not that it's a bad thing  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: GuitarBuilder on February 24, 2014, 08:53:15 PM
Sorry!  Couldn't contain myself..... ;)
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: rnolan on February 24, 2014, 10:15:55 PM
Yeah nice rack (and I wouldn't usually say that about a guy  ;) )
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: MarshallJMP on February 25, 2014, 11:16:29 AM
Now you're just showin' off, not that it's a bad thing  :thumb-up:

Hahaha  :lol:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: McLeanAB on March 24, 2014, 10:49:11 AM
Having owned both the MP-2 and the MP-1 (both awesome, but I loved the MP-1 more), I'd love to have a go at the MP-1 Classic...

It's the same sound with noise gate, programmable loop, slightly beefed up chorus and cabinet emulators, yes?  Structure of the MP-2 with the MP-1 sound?

Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: MarshallJMP on March 24, 2014, 01:23:34 PM
IMO the classic gas a sound of it's own,not an MP-1 or an MP-2.
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on March 24, 2014, 09:27:48 PM
IMO the classic gas a sound of it's own,not an MP-1 or an MP-2.

Whatta teaser! he's right tho, I love the sound of the Classic almost ALMOST enough to drop the MP-2. I just can't do it for sentimental reasons.

That said, I'm gonna be using the Classic at my next gig April 4, running direct.  :metal:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on March 26, 2014, 08:26:47 PM
Here she is, the world's smallest rack rig  O0
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: GuitarBuilder on March 26, 2014, 08:46:44 PM
Excellent!
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: rnolan on March 28, 2014, 11:19:40 PM
Cool  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Batsinthebelltower on April 06, 2014, 08:43:24 PM
I would really like to try a classic, but theyre very rare in ireland and uk  -  what is that mega rack at top pf page, with the seperate power unit at the side !?

Im guessing its like a furman where you plug all the units into that, then use the front master switch for the entire rack ?

Never seen that before , it looks mighty !! 8)
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: GuitarBuilder on April 07, 2014, 08:48:08 PM
I would really like to try a classic, but theyre very rare in ireland and uk  -  what is that mega rack at top pf page, with the seperate power unit at the side !?

Im guessing its like a furman where you plug all the units into that, then use the front master switch for the entire rack ?

Never seen that before , it looks mighty !! 8)

It is!  Rackmount Concepts was a great company, specializing in powered rack cabs, speaker cabs, and amp enclosures.  Unfortunately the owner has taken an extended leave of absence.  I have both a 5U and 7U unit, they're actually clones of the famous SR&D Rockman rack cabs of the 90s.
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on April 09, 2014, 10:41:56 AM
UPDATE: I have my Classic all dialed in for giggin now. I'm working on the MP-2 patches with the new Boss GX-700 I just picked up  :thumb-up:

Once I get the MP-2 dialed in, I'll have two solid rigs for running direct  :whoohoo!:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: rnolan on April 09, 2014, 11:22:08 AM
Ahh Dante you havin all the fun  :thumb-up: enjoy my friend  ;)
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on April 14, 2014, 08:14:46 PM
Just when I thought the Classic was winning the race, I have begun programming some 'direct' patches for my MP-2

 :amaze:
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: rnolan on April 18, 2014, 10:46:25 AM
And may the best preamp win... :facepalm:   you may need to expand the rack my friend and include the MP2 (we need a MP3 with all the options...)
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: Dante on August 02, 2015, 09:41:39 AM
Sorry to dig up an old thread here, but it's time for an update.

I've been using the MP-2 with the GX-700 in a small, 2u rack into my Boogie combo for the last year or so. I have gotten my patches very refined (finally) and have a bank of patches for each guitar, enough for 12 guitars to have 10 patches each :thumb-up:

So, I was experiencing some weirdness at a gig a few weeks ago. It quickly remedied itself when I cycled the power of the units in the rack, so i figured it was because of the heat (we were outside, it was near 100 degrees F). Well, it happened again at practice and I couldn't get it to stop. The effects unit (Boss) was switching effects on/off, cycling through patches, stopping for a second and doing it all again. It was horrendous and unusable. I ended up turning it off for practice and programmed 4 quick patches to get me through the rehearsal.

Before yanking the effects device out of the rack and swapping it with the backup unit, I just tried the midi cable from the other unit. It was fine, I suspect the cable is bad, so i bought another one, and so far have not seen the problem come back.

Since I had the other rig out of storage, I hooked it up and played through the MP-1 Classic for a change. GOD, I love the sound of this thing! It cuts through the mix like a cleave without a hint of screeching or fizzing (unless you want it that way, it'll go there). I love how easy it is to set up or edit a patch, compared to the endless button mashing of the MP-2 (i wish somebody had an editor program for that unit). The tones are more than fantastic, they are dynamic. I have a wider range of sounds (believe it or not) using only the three voicings in the MP-1 Classic. I don't get it, but it is super 'variable' in it's range. Picking attack is a breeze, which takes a bit of effort with the MP-2.

I'm totally on the MP-1 Classic train now. I'm digging everything about it, it's a joy to operate and to hear. I'm smitten  :-*
Title: Re: MP-1 Classic versus MP-2
Post by: rnolan on August 04, 2015, 12:04:50 AM
Hey Dante, well bad and good news, hopefully it's just the midi cable, how was the power supply though ? my MP2 was crapping out regularly when running on a generator, screen would go weird and I have to power cycle it, this was really annoying when I was in the middle of a solo. So I bought a 1KVA UPS and that has worked.

There were posts on the old depot from a guy who started to develop a PC editor for the MP2, he started but then nothing.... unfortunately.  I plan to develop a MP2 editor with a mate who's experienced with sysex, just need to find the time amongst his "many" projects. See how we go, I mentioned the idea to him and he was keen but he's a very busy boy with his job and 2 kids.

Glad your enjoying the Classic, I just use 3 patches with my MP2 these days, great tones and nice and simple (quite the antithesis of how I ran my MP1 way back when I had patches for each song and a foolscap bit of cardboard with the numbers written big so I could see them on stage  :facepalm: ).