ADA Depot Too - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

ADA Preamps => ADA MP1 Channel => Topic started by: zeppelin on April 28, 2015, 08:18:42 AM

Title: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: zeppelin on April 28, 2015, 08:18:42 AM
Caption Please.
I got nothing to say but it doesn't look a versatile MP1

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v664/zepp3lin69/Misc/top.jpg)

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v664/zepp3lin69/Misc/side.jpg)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on April 28, 2015, 09:53:28 AM
mmm. But probably a great stomp box if that's what you are after (e.g. in FX loop of other setups) Although I suspect you can buy MP1 for less and have all the benefits (midi etc.. apart from age..)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: El Chiguete on April 28, 2015, 01:37:21 PM
Wonder where the eq points will be... will it have the lack of bass like the original?
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: kawai2g4b on April 29, 2015, 02:26:09 AM
With as many modders as we have here someone will likely find a way to substitute a stomp switch for the clean/distortion sliding switch.   Not that I'm suggesting anything  O:-).  For occasional pedalboard junkies like me this would definitely have a use for me.  Definitely should give it a spin when I get the chance.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on April 29, 2015, 06:24:15 AM
Absolutely  >:D go team LOL (and I agree, foot switch for voicing, a good idea, gives you 2 sounds foot selectable).  Hey El haven't seen a spec sheet yet, but good point re the bass centre freq, I just checked the A/DA site, it's not on there yet, seems we got the scoop (go Monty  :thumb-up: ). If you put this in a MP1 loop, you'll have a 4TM LOL (and if it's really quiet, hopefully not add too much noise (like putting MP1 in other MP1 loop, way noisy IIRC)) so may work well for those hear chasing lots of gain ?? Hey I could put 2 of them in MP2 loops (6TM  >:D ). I think/suspect this will work really well for those using MP1 in their GT5 (or similar loops). And really hot up/bring to life older guitar amps (like my 1972 Marshall 50). I'd also like to know what tubes they've used. But I'm sure we'll find out in the fullness of time... So glad they've gone with tubes again !!!
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: monty on April 29, 2015, 03:24:00 PM
Hey guys. Full info will be posted very soon. Right now the first run is coming off the line. We will have new photos and information available shortly!

Also some demos will start popping up in about a week or so.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: RobbHell on April 29, 2015, 03:30:08 PM
I was excited at first to see this but upon reading I'm not impressed.  For one theres No channel changer only a switch to go between Clean and Dist Tube. Second a 12Vdc walwart wtf?!
ADA's attempt to get sales out of us. By todays standards it not hard to make a Hair Metal pedal and call it the Mp1 Channel. These so much more going on inside an original Mp1 that I see this pedal coming close but no cake and when the description wrote 280 volts like the original I had to laugh... The original never exceeded 190v and sure as hell wasnt powered by a 12volt walwart.
Cute but I see a Gimmick in the works.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: RobbHell on April 29, 2015, 03:31:01 PM
Hopefully the raised the filament voltage lol
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on April 30, 2015, 04:10:27 AM
Hey guys. Full info will be posted very soon. Right now the first run is coming off the line. We will have new photos and information available shortly! Also some demos will start popping up in about a week or so.
Hey Monty, no worries, thanks for the early heads up  :thumb-up: appreciated. I set up a child board for audio/video clips (so you can put some there). Interested to know what tubes you guys selected for it ? LOL
Cheers R
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: El Chiguete on April 30, 2015, 05:39:18 AM
Hey Monty, no worries, thanks for the early heads up  :thumb-up: appreciated. I set up a child board for audio/video clips (so you can put some there). Interested to know what tubes you guys selected for it ? LOL
Cheers R

Maybe after all the talk in this forum they will go with the Mullar reissues jeje
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on April 30, 2015, 07:44:59 AM
Hey El, well that would be my preference (mmm.. Mullard long plates) LOL (no secrets there). Though I did like the original bottles ADA used in both M1 and MP2, Chinese tubes and very nice...well pumped also, they lasted so long...
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Dante on April 30, 2015, 11:12:16 AM
Hey Monty, no worries, thanks for the early heads up  :thumb-up: appreciated. I set up a child board for audio/video clips (so you can put some there). Interested to know what tubes you guys selected for it ? LOL
Cheers R

Maybe after all the talk in this forum they will go with the Mullar reissues jeje

 :thumb-up:  :lol:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: monty on May 01, 2015, 05:03:09 PM
http://adaamps.com/Products/ada-MP1/MP1.htm
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on May 02, 2015, 12:49:37 AM
Hey Monty, Cool, but no user manual yet. Does the clean voicing just use OD1 ? And what tubes were hand selected ?? (obviously lots of interest in that here). Sort plates ? long plates ?
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: monty on May 02, 2015, 01:04:42 AM
Can't really say tooooo much just yet. There are a few things being finalized. The tubes are high gain, selected for low noise and microphonics. They're not cheap ;)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on May 02, 2015, 01:50:49 AM
No worries, let us know when you can, by now you know what we're like, we want to know everything  >:D LOL.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: zeppelin on May 08, 2015, 08:04:15 PM
Sorry for the wrong posting page admin. I came from the old ADA Depot forum but have not post much since it move here when I got registered.
Ok, I own the 3TM MP1 and looks like the MP1 in the box is not for me. ADA should at least implement it like the APP1 and it will be a superb metal pre amp stomp box with a channel option for the clean side, or a simple one, a foot switch of the clean voicing.
If it's design as a stomp box in mind than it will work better if it's smaller in size. It's a preAmp or just a distortion box?

IMHO, sales will not be much if it's freaking expensive just to try one. I've own the APP1 and are pretty dissapointed with it due to not much gain into it, just a bluesy and hard rock that's all.

Still digging my MP1 till now since 1992, so I'm a long time fan of ADA MP1.

Got to hear the demo though. :)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on May 08, 2015, 08:48:59 PM
Hey zeppelin, no worries  :thumb-up: , and glad you found your way here. Will be good to hear how they sound.  I suspect it would be hard to make it smaller as it has 2 tubes in it. And I think we all agree it would be good to have the clean voicing foot switchable. Pricing seems to be ~$400 US, not sure how much pedals sell for these days as I don't use any, gave them up when I went rack years ago (and never looked back).

Trouble with MP1/2 is they were so ahead of their time and nothings come along that's better IMHO.  I can see some uses for the MP1 channel, not in my setup but good for some people. Also would make a reasonable recording preamp coupled with a decent cab sim e.g. GCS3 etc. I agree, I would have made it like the APP1 just with tubes instead.

Good to hear some thoughts/reactions about the APP1, maybe you could post a review in the APP1 board and an audio clip or 2 in the APP1 Audio Clips area ?

Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: monty on May 21, 2015, 04:43:20 PM
Who says this is the only thing (MP1C) that will be released and some of these other ideas haven't been thought of awhile ago?  ;) ;)

Sorry for the delay and quiet time guys. Things have been really busy on my end lately and it seems like one thing after another just keeps popping up!! Haha...ok so...The MP1 Channel.....

The main focus for the MP1 Channel is for pedalboards and direct recording. The on-the-go guitarist which doesn't wanna lug around a head, cabinet, pedalboard, guitar, etc. Or a big heavy rack case, pedalboard, guitar, etc. It's mainly intended for those individuals that want a nice tube tone in a compact package which they have at their feet, on their pedalboard. Coupled with something like the ADA Guitar Cabinet Simulators, it makes for a pretty awesome little setup.

Is it a preamp? No. No, this one isn't an actual preamp but you CAN run it through a power amp/fx return as a "preamp". However, it does run at Instrument, not Line Level.

The Clean voicing does use both OD1 and OD2.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on May 22, 2015, 11:11:39 AM
Hey Monty, well it's no secret that a bunch of us want a MP3 (for me, that's take the MP2 further (basically keep it much the same just modern(ise) the components, IMO it's still the best guitar preamp ever made (and the Mullards do sound (shit loads) better than the original Chinese tubes)), for others here take the MP1 further (4 TM LoL) ? and maybe include in MP3 ??). I totally get where the MP1 ch1 is pitched as a stomp box, I've not heard one yet but like all hings ADA I'm sure it's good. I can see the MP1 Ch with a cab sim would be a great gadget for the home recorder, I can use my MP2 for both live and direct. My only issue with it is it's getting old and there's nothing better (nothing comes even close IMO), which is why I bought 2 more Mp2s .... My personal conversation was if my MP2 died (for whatever reason) then what do I use ?? there's nothing IMO that comes even close. so I bought spares...
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Dante on June 12, 2015, 06:12:03 PM
No offense to the pedalboard guys, but I'll take my 2u rack (and an old suitcase for my cords, pedals etc.) over a pedalboard with 50 pedals any day. I tap danced for about a year, but I'm back to the rack. Don't get me wrong, I am glad I tried it, but I'm also glad I'm not doing it anymore.

As for dragging an amp around with you: I'm not lugging a heavy head around, if I need to bring an amp, I'll ROLL my 1x12 combo into the venue. Otherwise, I'm using my 4u rack with an ADA Microtube 200 in it....so the 'amp head' is my 4u shallow rack, a very small head. I have a couple of 1x12 cabs, so I don't lug a big cab around either. I lug two small ones (ha ha).

$399.95 for a pedal is WAAY more than I'd pay for a 90's rackmount preamp that only needs about $20 in parts (and a bit of soldering) to blow that pedal out of the water.

My 2ยข
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: RobbHell on June 19, 2015, 11:09:13 AM
Still waiting to hear the claim that
MP1C  Has a 270 power supply amother wanna explain this bullshit?

Monty..... enlighten us.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: MarshallJMP on June 20, 2015, 10:58:01 AM
Never heard of a DC-DC converter (guess not knowing you),you can easily get 12Vdc converted to 270Vdc if you only need a few mA's.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Harley Hexxe on September 19, 2015, 10:51:00 AM
Wonder where the eq points will be... will it have the lack of bass like the original?

    Hey El, The original had more bottom end than the Classic, but that is probably because the SS voice was always present with the Tube voices. There was never a complete isolation between the two until the MP-2 was introduced.

    My mind is looking at the MP-1 Channel inserted in the effects loop of the APP-1 and wondering how that would sound? (Possibly using the EQ in the APP-1 to tweak the MP-1 Channel?) :dunno:

Harley 8)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on September 25, 2015, 01:25:02 AM
Hey Harley, interesting idea  :thumb-up: BTW MP2 doesn't have a solid state voice, they are all tube so yes complete isolation LoL
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Harley Hexxe on September 29, 2015, 05:34:37 PM
Hey Richard,

    Yes, the MP-2 doesn't have any SS voice in it at all, but the reference I was making was to the Classic. That one is isolated from the SS voice. MY bad about not stating it more clearly.

         Harley 8)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on October 01, 2015, 05:43:44 AM
Hey Harley, good to know, we didn't seem to get the classic in Oz, it seems a bit of a half way state between MP1 and MP2 as MP2 had many of the classic features, no wonder Dante vacillates between the 2, an MP1 with most of the MP2 goodies (stereo parallel loop, cab sims and as you say (which I didn't know) a separated SS stage). Now you've got me interested to get one LoL.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Harley Hexxe on October 02, 2015, 04:33:09 PM
Hey Richard,

     Yes, that was something I got from Todd Langner that I didn't know until after I bought my first Classic. He was still the head of the service department before ADA disappeared. I like a lot of the Classic's features such as the built-in noise gates, stereo loops, and the cab sims, which are all much more simplified than in the MP-2. The real bonus for me is how the Classic is very responsive to your pick attack, and the volume knob on your guitar, which to my ears is very much like a vintage tube amp and very "organic" sounding. I could never get this out of my MP-2's, (at least, not to this degree). The original MP-1 would also give me this kind of dynamic response, but with more warmth. Alone, that sounds very good, but when I tried to use two preamps in tandem, (one set for a rich clean tone, and the other with a medium overdrive tone), I got a bad phase cancellation out of the speaker cabs. This was what prompted me to pick up the phone and call ADA back then to find out why it was doing that. That was when Todd told me that the SS voice in the MP-1, was always present and "fighting" for dominance in the clean settings. It was out of phase with the Classic, and causing the cancellation.
      I don't try to use the preamps in tandem anymore though, I just use each as a different rig with their own dedicated effects, and switch from rig to rig to get the different tones in songs that have different guitar textures in them. This works much better for me now.


      Harley 8)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on October 03, 2015, 12:56:36 AM
Hey Harley, sent you a PM BTW. Thanks for the explanation, very edifying, this place is such a great font of knowledge and experience  :thumb-up: :whoohoo!: And now I really want a Classic  :facepalm:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Dante on November 03, 2015, 05:52:43 PM
Re: MP-1 Classic

Quote
The real bonus for me is how the Classic is very responsive to your pick attack, and the volume knob on your guitar, which to my ears is very much like a vintage tube amp and very "organic" sounding. I could never get this out of my MP-2's, (at least, not to this degree).

You Sir, NAILED it. I couldn't agree more.

It can be done with the MP-2, but it's much more a chore. And, you have to 'design' the voicing of your tone around that aspect while writing the patch. It can be done...but it's work, and it's still not as sensitive as the Classic in some respects.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on November 03, 2015, 11:22:47 PM
Hey Dante, have you tried my mid gain MP2 patch based on warm vintage voice 5 (posted in MP2 patches), I find it great for volume knob control (2.5 to 3 ish on JPLP vol pot  :thumb-up: ).
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Dante on November 04, 2015, 02:33:47 PM
Of course!

Wait, no, I don't know. I'll try it this weekend
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on November 05, 2015, 03:25:05 AM
Although when I put my 3 patches into my latest MP2 I changed it a bit (added some bottom end IIRC), left the other 2 the same. I'm planning a MP2 bake off soon, plug all 4 into a desk, same FX, Amp, Cab and compare them.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: DorsetRatt on November 05, 2015, 03:41:29 PM
MP-2 Bake off?  :???: :???: :???:

(http://i.huffpost.com/gen/3212358/images/n-GREAT-BRITISH-BAKE-OFF-GBBO-MARY-BERRY-large570.jpg)
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: Dante on November 05, 2015, 09:02:47 PM
OH! Behave :nono:

haha  :lol:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: MarshallJMP on November 06, 2015, 06:20:41 AM
Haha great one  :lol:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: van Sinn on March 05, 2016, 12:42:02 AM
I do realize this thread is a Bit old, but still have a few comments on the MP1 box.
Haven't had a chance to try it myself, but clips sounds pretty pretty.
Still, IMHO, ADA Amps missed some needed features:

They didn't add a stomp option to switch from clean to distortion, which I see as a bummer.
Further, they should've added rear jack allowing to do this channel switching from remote, like via one of the many [MIDI-based] stomp controllers.
Matter of fact, they should've added stomp switches to allow switching between clean and two different distortions, at least like a boost option for solos, which could easily be done even with only a single set of EQ controls.
And I fail to see why on earth they didn't include the classic compressor, as this is a fairly low expense, component-wise.
And methinks it's too expensive..  Apart from these musings, I have absolutely nothing against this concept box.
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on March 05, 2016, 04:35:05 AM
Hey Van, tend to agree with you, it could have been much more/better featured, but then it's starting to be a tube version of their APP1 I spose (also a good idea IMO).

Hey Monty, if your watching the thread ? how are the MP1chs doing ? And any news on a MP3 ??  >:D
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: van Sinn on March 05, 2016, 06:59:32 AM
Actually, Tarnowsky did at some point say that they left space enough for a tube in the APP-1..
Which begs the question: Why don't they simply create a pedal combining the APP-1 and the MP1-in-a-box, and add MIDI to it :dunno:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: rnolan on March 05, 2016, 09:15:31 AM
Makes sense to me  :thumb-up:
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: tomy on March 05, 2016, 02:16:56 PM
Actually, Tarnowsky did at some point say that they left space enough for a tube in the APP-1..
Which begs the question: Why don't they simply create a pedal combining the APP-1 and the MP1-in-a-box, and add MIDI to it :dunno:

Hey Van, you should sell the idea to Tarnowsky
Title: Re: MP1 in a Box Finally
Post by: van Sinn on March 05, 2016, 10:49:17 PM
* nah, not needed; they're members in here and will read this anyways, plus the box is already in the market; they can dub it to a future upgrade and give me a donation at will ;)
(besides, I just might have more advanced hardware plans on my own.. (getting ot, methinks))