ADA Depot - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please note "Depot New Registrations Temporarily Suspended" Please see discussions for how to register.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MP 2 squeal noise mystery *resolved*  (Read 3645 times)

jimnastic

MP 2 squeal noise mystery *resolved*
« on: Time Format »

Hi - a quick bit of background, I'm a guitarist who like to dabble with circuits (like the DIY pedals and a bit of amp modding) rather than a maintenance type person, so I MIGHT have just got lucky...So I write the below in case anyone has squeal noises with a MP2...

I've been playing guitar for nearly 40 years, and have been trying to collect tones (strat + fender style amp = knoplfer, add DIY Timmy gives Mayer-ish, add a RAT gives Beck, get the idea?) but never got the 80's/90's rawk tones nailed, so I've been on the watch on ebay for a MP1 or MP2. I finally got an MP2 from ebay for £150, and I was really pleased...until I plugged it in... TERRIBLE whining noise, like a high pitched squeal which changed pitch when I moved patches. I had no idea whether the patches were working as designed as it was so bad. Some ebay exchanges with the seller, and we agreed a partial refund and I'd start digging in. So, I opened it up...dear lord...it's a beast inside. Looked at the circuit diagrams on the Vault and started work (BTW anyone who thinks these units are a "bit digital" are soooooo far from reality, analogue paths all over the circuit board!).