ADA Depot - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need a Schematic? Check the Vault *MP-1 Classic Schematics Just Added!!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mesa 290 rage  (Read 3362 times)

Batsinthebelltower

Mesa 290 rage
« on: Time Format »

So ive been playing a mesa 290 for about 7 years now . I got my student loan back in the day and ordered a 2:90 from ebay usa to ireland , over £100 delivery , but hey , its the business !

A while back i read you can run half el34s in certain models , so mailed mesa my serial number etc for absolute verification, they replied saying which tube sockets to use. Even though i followed it specifically i got the feeling this is where problems begun

After that i went back to all 6L6 and started experiencing volume swells , total dropout of audio during recording sessions , and generally unpredictable operation. I retubed the entire thing , a local store made me a great deal of £200 for the retube , instead of the retail £300. Unfortunately not much changed it was still inconsistent ....

Eventually it gave off a burning smell one night , and i found the plastic block connector melted inside ; An apparently common error in the 290 , SO i performed the "solder to board" mod , and managed to get it running again , however only Side B was working ! Side A is totally silent ; i tried switching each sides tubes , A still silent, B still fine.