Other ADA Gear > Speakers & Cabs

ADA GCS-2 + Stereo Rig = ... Two GCS-2s???

(1/4) > >>

swipesy:
Hello all.  I've been thinking hard about getting a GCS-2 soon.  The reviews and audio samples (the good audio samples, that is) have convinced me that the GCS is the way to go.

The trouble is, I run a Digitech 2112 stereo rig, and the on-board sim is ... well, let's just say it leaves a lot to be desired.  It sounds either really fizzy or has blankets all over the tone.  I love the sounds I get through an amp and speakers though, so the tone is definitely there.  I've come to the point where I want to get away from using amps and cabs and go direct, but the sim on the 2112 just doesn't cut it.

I've read you can put the GCS-2 in a loop before the preamp tubes, but wouldn't that color the tonal character of the generated distortion differently from using the sim after the preamp as would be normal?  I'm concerned about that.  I've never done that before, and I like the tones I'm getting through a cabinet.

I can't spend a great deal of money, and if I have to get two GCS-2s I might be better off trying to find an old microcab or something.  However, this new one appears it may sound a bit better than the old microcabs, and two of the GCS-2s may equal what an old Microcab might cost.  It would be a tough call there.  Tougher for me, too, because I've never heard either myself before.

Anyway, if anyone has any opinions on what running a single sim before the tubes might change tone-wise, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

MarshallJMP:
Well if it was me i would get a mirocab,more tonal options and for me it sounds better.Plus it's 19" so easy to build in a rack.

MikeB: