ADA Depot - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Lets get Technical > All Things Tube All about preamp and power amp Tubes.

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: New MP-1 owner. Need help!  (Read 12131 times)

aramism

New MP-1 owner. Need help!
« on: Time Format »

Hi all.

First off nice to be here, it's cool to see a forum dedicated to just one amp!  :metal:

I just got my first MP-1, but have used them way in the past and at times during recording. It's worth noting I am a music producer that plays guitar and I have a collection of different amps and guitars for different situations. This is only for studio use, no live. So not too long ago I decided to get an MP-1. Anyway, I found a pretty good deal on craig's list and the guy gave it for very cheap but did tell me that he had not played it in years. So I got it anyway and it's not terrible or dead or messed up (actually cosmetically it looks brand new) but it has some issues and I was wondering how to address them. One more thing to note is that I'm not interested in any any distortion mods. I primarily got this for it's ability to do a shimmering and bright 80's clean.

So here are the problems:

1) It's way noisy. I put in fresh tubes, and will try the mesa SPAX7 for lower noise, but it's just a bit noisy, even in clean modes, ESPECIALLY with the chorus.
2) The input jack is messed up and only works when you pull the cable up. I guess that is an easy fix, just need to order a new jack and install it, right?
3) Sometimes when I go into edit mode, the LED flashing "bleeds" into the audio and I hear the "siren" type noise which is in sync with the lights.