Miscellaneous > Discussions

In Ear Monitors (IEMs)

(1/3) > >>

Dante:
I get a lot of questions about running IEMs, so why not give you guys the tour?

First of all, from what I'm told, you either love them or hate them. I LOVE THEM, and here's why; I have been playing in loud bands for over 25 years and had just gotten accustomed to being nearly deaf by the end of a gig. We all know how cool it is to pass out after a hard night of gigging and wake up with your ears still ringing from the night before - that is ROCK AND ROLL BABY!! ha ha  :lol:

Typically, I would hear my guitar just fine in the beginning of a gig, but as the night wore on, the cymbals would kill all my high-freq hearing. We all know how much of our guitar sound resides in precisely that range of freqs, so my usual gig routine included me 'gently' turning up my volume all night long.

Hearing fatigue is real. IEMs (can) eliminate this entirely. Of course, if you want, you can crank it up and defeat the whole purpose...but I digress

Our keyboard player invested in a really badass Presonus mixer for us all to run IEMs. The Presonus has a Wifi built into it, and we all connect to the mixer with iPods/iPhones using an app from Presonus (not available for the Droid - I had to purchase an iPod touch on craigslist). With the app, each band member can create their own headphone mix! I can have my vocals and my guitar louder than everything in my ears. Without the Presonus mixer, your soundman has to adjust your levels for you. But, once they're set, you're good to go virtually anywhere, any room size.

The keyboard player also purchased four 2-channel wireless mic packs for us to use. By using the left/right independently, we get 8 separate channels for headphones (there are only 6 of us, counting the sound man) The receivers for the wireless mic packs are all mounted in a rack under the mixer.