ADA Depot - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Let us never forget our beloved founder - RIP Jurrie, we all miss you very much

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Suggestions for a gate/suppressor?  (Read 28533 times)

PrimalScream91

Suggestions for a gate/suppressor?
« on: Time Format »

As I'm sure we all know, the MP-1's can be a bit... noisy.

So I'm on the hunt for a good noise suppressor/ gate, but I'm relatively new to rack gear (still using effects pedals for everything else) and I feel like I'm swimming in a crazy ocean right now!  :banana-trip:

I know one of the standby's is the Rocktron HUSH units, but damn is there a lot of em to choose from! What's some of the depots suggestions for a good rack unit?
Guitars: Couple Gibsons, Couple Fenders, Couple Kramers, Couple others...
Amps: MP-1, MP-2, B200S, Couple Marshalls

Soloist

• Take No Prisoners...Take No Sh!t
Re: Suggestions for a gate/suppressor?
« Reply #1 on: Time Format »

Check out an ISP Decimator ProRack. Around $300 US new, little pricey but by far one of the best you'll find! I believe the ProRack G is their top of line model at $411 US.

Rocktron's aren't bad, just a bit touchy to set it right without squashing your tone.(Had one for a few years)

Boss NS2 is another cheaper option in pedal form that works pretty good.( I use this on a low setting for pickup noise and Tube Screamer noise only)

What effects unit are you using? I ask because the noise gate in my G Major 2 works really well also. :thumb-up:

Another option is the MP1 noise mod.
« Last Edit: Time Format by Soloist »
Live Rig:
Fractal Audio FM3 ver 1.06
Boss GT 100 ver.2.11
Switching- Radial Engineering Big Shot I/O v2 - Radial Engineering Pro D2 Stereo Direct Box
Power - Live Wire Power Conditioning Distribution System
Monitors  - (2) FRFR-112 Headrush Stage monitors