ADA Depot - A Forum To Support Users of ADA Amplification Gear

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Need a Schematic? Check the Vault *MP-1 Classic Schematics Just Added!!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Got noise???  (Read 5041 times)

Dante

• Administrator
  • Superhero Member
  • Nothing more uncommon than common sense
    • The Best Cover Band In Sacramento
Got noise???
« on: Time Format »

I have been pretty spoiled for a very long time with very reliable ADA gear. I have (thankfully) not had to deal with noise problems in my rig.... until lately.

Because of being so spoiled, I'm a total NOOB at diagnosing such things. Here's my story, hopefully it will help others avoid my mistakes.

One night at a gig:
My pedal board goes black. No power, then it's back and the midi pedal shows 01, meaning it just started back up. Unfortunately, I'm playing patches in bank 8, so I have to scroll up while playing a song and singing. Then, it does it again. Shit. This had nothing to do with noise...yet.

Next gig:
Noise. As soon as we hook up, I have a big ol' hum sound. On a clean patch, with no gain  ???   I blamed the venue, which has terrible power sources and way too many neon lights plugged into the same outlets the band uses. Then, I started fiddling with my patch cables. When I rotated the one going into my tuner, the noise stopped. I could rotate it different directions in jack to change the noise. I replaced that cable. And another, and then all of them. Noise gone...for now.

Next practice: